Using a different lens every week (ahmm… well) for 70+ weeks (or more)… ;)

Why an M8?

OK, you might ask, “Why did he buy an M8?”
“He has got the NEX-7 and has explained that that Sony offers an amazing chance to use Leica M lenses on a digital body”.

Yep, right. Members of Leica Historica Germany have even read about the reasons why I have decided to buy a NEX-7 and not a Leica M8. And now I have one. Apart from the fact that I am a little camera-crazy  – I use eight different camera system (NEX, Leica, EOS, Pentax, Nikon, M42, EXA etc.) – using the NEX I have understood that I really like to carry around small cameras. There was a time when I lugged around backpacks with more than 15 kg of camera gear inside. Oh boy, that was’t nice. But DSLR stuff tends to weigh tons.

The NEX offered me for the first time a DSLR-like image quality in a light and compact camera body. No hurting backs any more. And since it’s also opened the Leica M world for me, well, at least as lenses are concerned, I started to understand why people like that small glass.

When a friend of mine gave me a Yashica Electro 35GS as a present, I instantly fell in love with rangefinder photography. I bought an Olympus 35RC, a Rolleii XF35, a FED-3 and several other rangefinders, but all of them were using film. Digital rangefinders were rare and expensive. Originally I wanted to start with an Epson RD-1 but even that one didn’t get any cheaper. The used ones were still more expensive than I wanted to pay for a cam.

Still, the fascination went on. And after I had shot with the M9 of a good friend and after I had become a member of Leica Historica seeing all the others plaing around with their Ms, I couldn’t hold it for much longer. I bought a Leica IIIa syn first to see how I liked a “Barnack-Leica” and finally the M8. (I sold some other equipment for it, in order to keep my better half calm ;)).

OK, and now, after some weeks with the M8? I must say that I do not regret it. A Leica M still is something very special. Perhaps you have to be a little camera-nerdy to understand that sentiment, but I am not the only one who is, so it seems.

Leave a Reply

