Using a different lens every week (ahmm… well) for 70+ weeks (or more)… ;)

What an amazing light meter!

Do you know those guys who constantly utter that “everything was better in former times”?

In most cases they are wrong, but sometimes they just hit the nail.

Today’s light meters – I mean the external ones, not the ones built in modern cameras – are mostly big and expensive. If not big, they are definitely expensive.

When shooting with my Nikon F or Leica IIIa syn – either one without a built-in light meter – I usually use my Gossen Lunasix 3 (which has never let my down so far!) or I guestimate aperture and shutter speed. The rest is done by the lab.๐Ÿ˜‰

Everynow and then guessing the parameters is not easy, especially when shooting indoors. And the Lunasix is kind of bulgy and rather uncomfortable in a pocket. So, I have been looking for an alternative for a while.

Some days ago I found one and it was delievered yesterday. (Yes, yesterday was like Christmas for me. ;))

beliklassikIt’s a light meter, called “BEWI Senior”, that uses a clever optical mechanism and thus cannot run out of battery or suffer from a bad selenium cell. Kind of incredible for us nowadays but it really works!ย 

4 responses

  1. Praktinafan

    I had this a while ago as well. It was useless because the transparent materials were darkened by age. Metering was not better than guessing.

    May 26, 2013 at 16:00

    • OK, my copy is fully working.

      May 26, 2013 at 17:43

      • Fine! I am interested in a real world test, preferably by myself๐Ÿ˜‰

        May 26, 2013 at 18:21

      • One day that will be possible, I guess.๐Ÿ˜‰

        May 26, 2013 at 21:37

Leave a Reply

